Search Post on this Blog

IUCN Red list India

The International Union for the conservation of Nature (IUCN) was created in 1948, one of the oldest NGOs for environment conservation. It is composed of government, civil society organizations, and volunteers. IUCN red list has nine groups for evaluation of the status of plants, animals, and fungi species. Nine groups are:

  • Not Evaluated (NE)
  • Data Deficient (DD)
  • Least Concern (LC)
  • Near Threaten(NT)
  • Vulnerable (VU)
  • Endangered(EN)
  • Critically Endangered (CR)
  • Extinct in the Wild(EW)
  • Extinct (EX)

As of 2019, the following are IUCN threaten categories ( VU, EN, and CR) red list:


  • Indian Star Tortoises: It is mainly found in Gujrat & Rajasthan areas but recently successfully rehabilitated at Chinnar wildlife sanctuary in Kerala.
  • Black-necked Cranes are a migratory bird that is commonly found in China.


  • Irrawaddy dolphins, these species are mainly found in the Ganges, Brahmputra, Mekong, and Irrawaddy rivers.
  • Nilgiri Tahr
  • Indian wild Orange
  • India's Swimming Camel-Kharai Camel
  • Tiger
  • Asiatic Lion
  • Wild fog
  • Hog deer
  • Golden langur

Critically Endangered(CR):

  • Northern River Terrapins(turtle) are found in Tributaries of Ganges.
  • Great Indian Bustard: Mainly found in Rajasthan
  • Sangai Deer: State animal of Manipur, found in Loktak lake.
  • Namdampha flying squirrel
  • Kashmiri stag or Hangul
  • Malabar civet
  • Pygmy hog
  • Sumatran rhinoceros

Next Post »