Search Post on this Blog

What are the major landforms? | Class 6- The Earth: Our Habitat ( GEOGRAPHY), SOCIAL SCIENCE


What are the major landforms?

( Chapter 6: Major Landforms of the Earth, Class 6- The Earth: Our Habitat ( GEOGRAPHY), SOCIAL SCIENCE)


Landforms refer to the various physical features that make up the earth's surface. These features are the result of geological processes and can take many different shapes and sizes. 

There are three major landforms of the earth. Name of three major landforms are mountains, plateaus, and plains.


The elevated landforms with steep slopes, broad bases, and high peaks are known as Mountain landforms. For example, Himalayas and Alps mountains.


A plateau is an elevated flat land which is table land standing above the surrounding areas. For example, the Deccan Plateau in India, Colorado Plateau in the USA,  and Tibetan Plateau.


Plains are low-lying, flat, or gently rolling areas that are generally not more than 200 meters above sea level. For example, the Ganga-Brahmaputra plains, Great Plains in North America, etc.

Examples of some minor landforms are:


Valleys are low-lying areas between mountains or hills, often formed by rivers. For example the Narmada Valley, Krishna Valley, Sone Valley, Damodar Valley, etc.


Lakes are water bodies, like the Sambhar Lake of Rajasthan.


Islands are pieces of land surrounded by water, like Andaman & Nicobar, and Lakshadweep groups of Island.


Peninsulas are land that extends into large water bodies, like the Deccan Peninsula of India and the Iberian Peninsula (Spain and Portugal).

These landforms shape the Earth's surface and have a significant impact on climate, ecosystems, and human civilization.

You may like also:

Next Post »