Search Post on this Blog

Which are the three broad categories of natural vegetation? | Class 7 NCERT - Our Environment ( GEOGRAPHY), SOCIAL SCIENCE


Which are the three broad categories of natural vegetation?

( Chapter 6: Natural Vegetation and Wildlife, Class 7- Our Environment ( GEOGRAPHY), SOCIAL SCIENCE)


The three broad categories of natural vegetation are Forest, Grassland, and Shrubs ( Desert):


Forests are characterized by dense trees and a variety of plants. Forests can be further classified into various types such as tropical rainforests, temperate forests, and boreal forests.  Each of these forests has distinct flora and fauna adapted to specific climate conditions.


Grasslands consist primarily of grasses with relatively few trees and shrubs. 

Grasslands can vary from savannas with scattered trees to vast prairies and steppes. Grasslands are found in different regions around the world, including the African savannas and the Great Plains of North America.

Desert ( Shrubs): 

Deserts are areas with arid or semi-arid climates characterized by limited rainfall. Vegetation in deserts is adapted to water scarcity and typically includes succulents like cactus, drought-resistant shrubs, and specialized desert-adapted plants.

These categories of natural vegetation are generalized, and there can be various subtypes and transitional zones between them, depending on factors like climate, soil, and geography.

You may like also:

Next Post »