Search Post on this Blog

Anglo-Nepal War (1814-16) | Notes, Treaty, Years, Important facts

Anglo-Nepal War (1814-16):

The Anglo-Nepallese War is also known as the Gurkha War or the Anglo-Gorkha War. It took place between the British East India Company and the Kingdom of Nepal from 1814 to 1816. 

The following are important facts about the Anglo-Nepalese War:

Year: 1814-16

Governor General of India:  Lord Hasting

Treaty: Treaty of Sugauli (1816).


As per the Sugauli treaty, the Kali River was designated as the Western boundary of Nepal, and the Gandak River became the eastern boundary.

Nepal ceded significant territories to the British including parts of present-day Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, and the Terai region of Nepal.

The Gurkha also agreed not to interfere in the internal affairs of the British territories. 

Nepal became a protectorate of the British and they are excepted from paying any annual fee, unlike other princely states. 

The Gurkhas became valuable allies to the East India Company and played an important role in the Anglo-Sikh War and the 1857 revolt. 

Gurkhas ( Nepalese) were the first non-British soldiers to have the honor of defending Buckingham Palace, the London, which was a residence of the British royal family

You may also like:

Next Post »