Search Post on this Blog

Who Planted the "Tree of Liberty" at Srirangapatnam?

Who Planted the "Tree of Liberty" at Srirangapatnam?

a) Haider Ali

b) Tipu Sultan

c) Chin Qilich Khan

d) Murshid Quli Khan

Answer. b) Tipu Sultan

Four Anglo Mysore War:

First Anglo-Mysore War: 1767-1769; Treaty of Madras (1769)

Second Anglo-Mysore War: 1780-1784; Treaty of Mangalore ( 1784)

Third Anglo-Mysore War: 1790-1792; Treaty of Sringapatnam (1792)

Fourth Anglo-Mysore War: 1799

Haider Ali:

Haider Ali ( 1720 to 1782) was the sultan and de facto ruler of the kingdom of Mysore in southern India. He was the commander of the army of the Wodeyar dynasty. 

Tipu Sultan:

Tipu Sultan was killed in the fourth Anglo-Mysore war in 1799 by Lord Wellesley, the governor-general of Bengal.

Tipu Sultan was inspired by the ideas of the French Revolution, and thus planted a "tree of liberty" in his capital Srirangapatnam, and also became a member of the Jacobin club. The Jacobin Club of Mysore was the first Revolutionary Republican organization to be formed in India. The "Tree of Liberty" symbolizes the spirit of resistance and the desire for self-governance. The "Tree of Liberty" stood as a symbol of strength, unity, and the will to fight against the British.

The Treaty of Srirangapatnam was signed after the third Anglo-Mysore war between Tipu Sultan and Lord Cornwallis, the governor-general of Bengal.

Murshid Quli Khan:

Murshid Quli Khan was the governor ( Subedar ) of Bengal and Orissa, who was appointed by the Mughals.

Murshid Quli Khan was the first Nawab of Bengal ( 1717 to 1727). He was Hindu by birth, his name was Surya Narayan Mishra.

Chin Qilich Khan:

Chin Qilich Khan was the first Nizam of Hyderbad. He was given the title of Nizam-ul-Mulk when he became the Governor of the Deccan.

He founded the Asaf Jahi dynasty.

You may like also:

Next Post »