Search Post on this Blog

History of Indian Constitution UPSC[Prelims]

History of Indian Constitution[ Short Note for revision]

1773's Regulating Act:

  • It was the first step to regulate the affairs of the East India Company in India.
  • Designation changes: Governor of Bengal to Governor-General of Bengal. Governor of Bengal and Madras subordinated.
  • Warren Hastings was the first Governor-General of Bengal.
  • The Supreme court was established in 1774 under this act.
  • Servant of the company was forbidden to do private trade.

1784's Pitt India Act:

  • The political and commercial affairs of the company were separated out.
  • The Court of directors looked after commercial affairs and the Board of directors looked after the Political affairs of the company.
  • Company territory in India is now called "British possession in India'.

1813's Charter Act:

  • The trade monopoly of the Company was terminated and trade of India was opened to all Britishers.

1833' s Charter Act:

  • It was the beginning of centralization in India.
  • East India company worked as an administrative body.
  • Designation changed: Governor-General of Bengal to Governor-General of India.

1853's Charter Act:

  • Indian Civil Services were opened for all.
  • The legislative and executive functions of the Governor-General of India were separated out.

1858's Governor of India Act:

  • The rule of the company was ended and the court of directors and board of directors was abolished.
  • Designation changed: from Governor-General of India to Viceroy of India.
  • Lord Canning was the first Viceroy of India.
  • The new office, Secretary of State for India was established.

1861's Indian Council Act:

  • The first time, 3 Indians were added to the Viceroy council as non-official members.
  • A Portfolio system was established.
  • Starting of de-centralization.


  • Starting of Self government in India by Lord Ripon. It was also called the Magna Carta of self-government.

1892's Indian Council Act:

  • Indirect election(nomination) was introduced.
  • Starting of Budget discussion by Legislative council.

1909's Indian Council Act:

  • It is also called Morley-Minto Reform.
  • Starting of Direct election for the legislative council.
  • A separate electorate for Muslims was started.
  • Satendra Sinha was the first Indian in Viceroy executive council.
  • Recommendation of Public Account Committee 

1919's Government of India Act:

  • It is also called the "Montague-Chelmsford" reform.
  • Duel government or dyarchy system was established in the provincial subject. Two subjects were made that is transferred and reserved subject and the governor was not responsible for the reserved subject to the legislative council.
  • Bicameralism in the imperialism council was established.
Next Post »