Search Post on this Blog

Name the different seasons in India. | Class 6- The Earth: Our Habitat ( GEOGRAPHY), SOCIAL SCIENCE


Name the different seasons in India.

( Chapter 8: India: Climate, Vegetation, and Wildlife, Class 6- The Earth: Our Habitat ( GEOGRAPHY), SOCIAL SCIENCE)


Changes in seasons happen due to the revolution motion of the earth at a tilted angle. There are hardly any changes in season near the equator. Since India is located in the north of the Equator and the tropic of Cancer ( 23.5 degrees north latitude) passes almost the middle of India, that is why there is a presence of different seasons in India. 

Northern India broadly has the following four seasons namely 

  • Winter season
  • Summer season
  • Rainy season
  • Autumn season

Winter (December to February): 

Generally cooler temperatures, especially in northern India, with some regions experiencing frost and snowfall.

Summer (March to May): 

Intense heat, especially in northern and central India, with temperatures often exceeding 40°C. The southern and coastal regions are relatively cooler.

‘Loo’ local winds blow in the summer season in the northern plains.


The rainy season or Monsoon (June to September):

The rainy season is also known as the southwest monsoon season. June to September are rainy seasons.

Autumn season ( October to November):

The Autumn season is also known as the Retreating monsoon season. October to November months are autumn season. The Coast of Tamil Nadu and Andhra coast receives rainfall in the Autumn season.

In the Autumn season, temperatures begin to cool, and humidity levels drop as the monsoon retreats. This makes starting the pleasant transitional period of the winter season.

There are four seasons in India, however, they vary in intensity and characteristics across different regions of India due to their diverse geographical and climatic features.

You may like also:

Next Post »