Search Post on this Blog

Who was the defense lawyer at the INA trials of 1946?

 Who was the defense lawyer at the Indian National Army (INA) trials of 1946?

a) Jawahar Lal Nehru

b) Bhulabhai Desai

c) Tej Bahadur Sapru

d) All of the above

Answer. d) All of the above

About Indian National Army ( INA) trials:

The Indian National Army ( INA) trial also known as the Red Fort trials, was conducted between November 1945 to May 1946. 

It was against the soldiers of the Indian army namely for treason, torture, and murder during World War II.

Gurbaksh Singh Dhillon, Prem Kumar Sahgal, and Shah Nawaz Khan were three prominent Indian Commissioned Officers against whom INA trials were conducted. 

Prominent defense lawyers at the INA trials of 1946 were Bhulabhai Desai, Jawahar Lal Nehru, Tej Bahadur Sapru, Kailash Nath Katju, and Asaf Ali.

Bhulabhai Desai was the chief lawyer of the INA Trials. He was best known for defending three Indian National Army soldiers.

About Jawahar Lal Nehru:

Jawahar Lal Nehru was the country's first prime minister for 16 years.

1929: Jawaharlal Nehru was elected as President of the Indian National Congress in December 1929 at Lahore Session. He formalized the demand of Purna Swaraj ( complete independence).

1931: Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru drafted the resolution of Fundamental Rights at the Karachi Congress Session in 1931. It was chaired by Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel.

1946: Jawaharlal Nehru introduced the Objective Resolution on December 13, 1946.

Nehru was Chairperson of three major Committees of the Constituent Assembly namely the Union Powers Committee, the Union Constitution Committee, and States Committee.

14 November is celebrated as Children's Day to honor Pandit Nehru. 

"Discovery of India" is a famous book written by Jawahar Lal Nehru.

" Laziness is harmful to oneself" is a famous quote by Pandit Nehru.

Jawaharlal Nehru's famous line was "Everything else can wait but not agriculture".

Tej Bahadur Sapru: 

Tej Bahadur Sapru mediated between Gandhi and the Viceroy Lord Irwin. 

He participated in all three round table conferences.

Sir Tej Bahadur Sapru was the president of the All India Liberal Federation.

Tej Bahadur Sapru was a member of the Constitutional Assembly.

You may like also:

Next Post »