Search Post on this Blog

Which of the following subjects is not listed in the 11th schedule of the Indian Constitution?

 Which of the following subjects is not listed in the 11th schedule of the Indian Constitution?

a) Kanji House

b) Animal Husbandry

c) Poverty Eradication Programme

d) Minor Forest Product

Answer. a) Kanji House

Kanji House is the shelter house to keep the stray cattle or dogs. 

Kanji House is not listed in the 11th Schedule of the Indian Constitution whereas Animal Husbandry, Poverty Eradication Programme, and minor forest products are mentioned in the 11th Schedule of the Indian Constitution.

There are 29 subjects in the 11th Schedule of the Constitution. That means Panchayat Raj Institution can make law on the mentioned 29 Subjects. 

The following are 29 subjects that are listed in the 11th schedule of the Indian Constitution:

1. Agriculture

2. Land improvement and reform

3. Minor irrigation

4. Animal husbandry

5. Fisheries.

6. Social forestry

7. Minor forest produce.

8. Small scale industries

9. Khadi, village, and cottage industries.

10. Rural housing

11. Drinking water.

12. Fuel and fodder

13. Rural Roads

14. Rural electrification

15. Non-conventional energy sources.

16. Poverty alleviation program.

17. Primary and secondary schools.

18. Technical training and vocational education.

19. Adult and non-formal education.

20. Libraries.

21. Cultural activities.

22. Markets and fairs.

23. Health and sanitation

24. Family welfare.

25. Women and child development.

26. Social welfare

27. Welfare of the weaker sections

28. Public distribution system ( PDS)

29. Maintenance of community assets

About Panchayati Raj Institution:

Article 40 [ DPSP-Directive Principle of State Policy] of the constitution directs to state to organize Village Panchayats as a unit of self-government.

Panchayati Raj Institution is mentioned in Article 243 A to 243 O, Part IX A, and the 11th Schedule of the Constitution.

Article 243A – Gram Sabha.

Article 243B – Constitution of Panchayats.

Article 243C – Composition of Panchayats.

Article 243D – Reservation of seats.

It was enacted through the 73rd Constitution Amendment Act, 1992, and implemented on 24th April 1993. That is why, 24 April has been celebrated as Panchayati Raj Day.

It has three layers namely Gram Panchayat, Panchayati Samiti, and district Parishad.

Rajasthan was the first state to implement the Panchayati Raj institution in October 1959 in Nagpur district. Andhra Pradesh was the second to the Implement Panchayati Raj System.

At Present, the Panchayati Raj system exists in all states except Nagaland, Meghalaya, and Mizoram, and in all Union Territories except Delhi.

The Panchayats Extension to Scheduled Areas (PESA) Act, 1996, gives special powers to the Gram Sabhas in Scheduled Areas, especially for the management of natural resources.

One-third ( 33 %) of seats for women in Panchayati Raj institutions are reserved.

The following are committees related to the Panchayati Raj Institution:

1957: Balwant Rai Mehta Committee

1977: Ashok Mehta Committee

1983: Hanumantha Rao Committee

1985: G.V. K Rao Committee

1986: L.M Singhvi Committee

1989: Thungan Committee

You may Like also:

Next Post »